India vs Pakistan

Indians are amazing people. Two of my best friends, Shalini and Hari, are Indians and they are helpful, decent, modest, and I love them. Despite political rivalry between Pakistan and India, I have deep respect for the citizens of both countries. However, recently, I had the most annoying conversation with a belligerent and brassy Indian that made my blood boil. He had commented a very nasty thing about Pakistanis. I was unable to find the actual tweet but please read the following conversation.

1 Tweet3 Tweet4 Tweet2 Tweet5 Tweet6 Tweet7 Tweet8 Tweet9 Tweet10 Tweet11 Tweet12 Tweet13 Tweet

What made me upset was not the fact that he was criticizing Pakistan. I think everyone has the right to freedom of speech. What made me upset was that he was implying that all Pakistanis are malicious. Generalizations give rise to hatred against a particular country, race, religion. And it should be avoided at any cost. Being an enthusiastic traveler, I have known people from diverse nations and I have met both ethical and unethical people. And I have long trashed the belief that the people belonging to a certain group are ALL nice or ALL bad. Being nice is not built into a person by his/her country of origin. It is built into him through his own critical thinking.

The world is already divided up. We don’t need more hatred towards anyone. Boundaries of nations are man-made creation. Being born into a certain country doesn’t make us better than the other person. Unity and humanity are what will keep the world together. I am a Pakistani and I proudly say that I love Pakistan and I love India.

Quoting Quran:

“An Arab has no superiority over a non-Arab nor a non-Arab has any superiority over an Arab; also a white has no superiority over a black nor a black has any superiority over white except by piety and good action. “

And Martin Luther King:

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.

-Peace out

For PR/Media Inquiry, contact khajistanizam@yahoo.com

One thought on “India vs Pakistan

  1. Haha it is ridiculous to see peoples around the world still saying that they are from so and so nations, but if we really wanted to be proud, we must be proud of ourselves, and being proud to be a homosapien, a human. Hope to see more from you. Have hope, write on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

